Scottish MPs wait to learn of cabinet position results

By Steven Robson

Ed Miliband is currently deciding the key positions of his shadow government, including three Scottish MP’s who were elected into the cabinet yesterday. Jim Murphy, Douglas Alexander and Ann McKechin join former work and pension secretary Yvette Cooper who gained a vote winning 232 votes, 40 votes ahead of second place John Heatley and former education secretary Ed Balls.

All the elected individuals of the new shadow cabinet were members of Tony Blair or Gordon Brown’s cabinet, including former Scottish secretary Jim Murphy, who expressed his delight on Twitter when he declared: “lets get at these Tories and their little Liberal helpers.” He gained 160 votes from the 258 Labour MPs who voted, placing him 6th out of the 49 candidates.

Nevertheless, he added that he was “really sad some great people didn’t win.” Ben Bradshaw, Shaun Woodward and defeated leadership contender Diane Abbot did not gain the right to occupy the 19 available cabinet positions. Additionally, former Welsh Secretary Peter Hain missed out by three votes yesterday, but Miliband has  since hinted that he may require a Welsh MP to take-up the role, suggesting that Hain may re-occupy his role when the Labour leader announces his cabinet later today.

Former secretary of state for international development, Douglas Alexander will also sit at the cabinet table with the other elected members. The Labour MP for Paisley & Renfrewshire South has said that he was “delighted to be elected as part of a strong shadow cabinet team.”

A requirement of the Labour cabinet  election was that every person should vote for at least six women- Ann Mckechin was just one of eight women elected into the shadow cabinet. The former secretary of state in the Scottish office said that she was “delighted that there is a great showing from Scots and I know that Jim, Douglas and I will be at the heart of decision-making in the Labour Party.”

The Labour Party always host cabinet elections in opposition. Labours first outing, is to put up a fight in Prime Ministers Questions next Wednesday, with the cabinet of elected members having been assigned their various roles.

  • Yvette Cooper- 232
  • John Heatley- 192
  • Ed Balls- 179
  • Andy Burnham- 165
  • Alan Johnson- 163
  • Jim Murphy- 160
  • Douglas Alexander- 160
  • Tessa Jowell- 152
  • Caroline Flint- 139
  • John Denham- 129
  • Hilary Benn- 128
  • Sadiq Khan- 128
  • Mary Creagh- 199
  • Ann McKechin- 117
  • Maria Eagle- 107
  • Meg Hillier- 106
  • Ivan Lewis- 104
  • Liam Byrne- 100

[picapp align=”center” wrap=”false” link=”term=The+Labour+Party+Hold+Their+Annual+Party+Conference+-+Day+5&iid=9874453″ src=”″ width=”234″ height=”351″ /]